Missing home…

I gotta say, I’ve loved my time here in New York City, but I am definitely feeling the urge to get back home. Everything just moves so fast here.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love that. I really do. It’s just that, well, Minnesota moves at a bit of a slower pace. Particularly in Blue Earth, which is my typical stomping grounds. I’m used to getting done with work kinda early, and maybe I’ll have time to take in a quick nine holes at the Minn-Iowa course down in Elmore, or pop up to Rice Lake and do a little fishing, and still have time to make dinner and catch the 6 o’clock news.

big fish
One of the biggest fish I’ve ever caught!

Here, though, it seems like everyone’s busy busy busy, and don’t even leave the office until after 7, if they’re lucky. Heck, I met some folks who work until 10, every night! No wonder there are so many restaurants. Who’s got time to cook?

Actually, everyone does. Today I’m gonna give you guys a recipe that tastes great, doesn’t cost an arm and a leg, and takes less time than it would for you to get a pizza delivered. Or,  if you are in NYC, get empanadas and pad thai delivered. (This place really does have everything, I swear.) Also, it gets you your veggies. Always important. 🙂

Anyway, here’s one of my favorite quick ones for when I’m too tired to do any fancy cooking. And heck, you can make it all in one skillet, so there’s hardly any dishes to do afterward, too.

Ho ho ho,

-GG

Risotto Chicken Skillet

38ac9395-883a-4b99-abf8-49f27eeaecd2

Ingredients

1 pound boneless chicken tenders
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
2 package (11 oz) Green Giant™ Steamers frozen brown rice with carrots, peas, onion & kale in parmesan asiago sauce

Instructions

  1. In 10-inch skillet, heat oil over medium high heat until hot. Cook and stir chicken about 8 minutes or until juices run clear.
  2. Meanwhile, cook vegetables as directed on package. Add vegetables to cooked chicken; cook and stir about 2 minutes or until mixture is hot.
  3. That’s it! You’re done! Eat it up!
Leave a Reply

