I hate flying.

I’m gonna be honest, while I love meeting up with fans, I absolutely loathe flying. You always have to wait around for forever, the food is terrible, and the TSA agents still haven’t figured out a way to speed me through security. (I tried signing up for that precheck thing, but I kept having problems when I tried to put in my height. Fix this, TSA! There needs to be a tens place in the drop down menu!) All in all, it’s usually a bad experience.

Take this trip out here, for instance. I had, like, no legroom whatsoever. I mean, I can appreciate the fact that I’m a big guy, and that other people probably don’t have as much as an issue as me, but come on. Give me a little bit of wiggle room, here. And I mean that literally.

dv2074035
I’m basically the dude on the left but it’s worse because I am legally a giant. (image: thepointsguy.com)

Oh, and the worst is when the guy ahead of you tries to push his seat back. Like it’s gonna have anywhere to travel. Um, hello, I’ve got long legs, and my knees are pretty much not going anywhere. Didn’t you notice the fifty foot-tall green guy wedged in behind you? I swear, it’s like people think that when they get up in the air, they are in their own little world.

why_airplane_dining_has_always_been_awful
This guy gets what I’m talking about. (image: salon.com)

Oh, and the food was godawful. First of all, I like my veggies, and I’ve got a pretty big appetite. But all they had were these sad little baby carrots that they’d absolutely cooked the ever-loving heck out of. And there were only six of them! Six tiny lifeless baby carrots to go with my chicken which was actually pretty okay, but again on the small side.

Anyway, I hate to be a bummer about that kind of stuff, but MAN, I was just thinking about my trip out here, and that flight was the worst. The Suits really need to start chartering me a plane, if they want me to do more of these cross-country appearances.

Anyway, it makes me crave something that’s quick and easy and tasty, so that’s what I’m gonna share.

Ho ho ho,

-GG

Tuscan Broccoli Stovetop Mac and Cheese

da8ebf00-8f92-457d-8c3c-ca6c7251a3bd

Ingredients

8 oz elbow macaroni
1 (11.8 oz) package Green Giant™ Seasoned Steamers™ Tuscan seasoned broccoli
2 tablespoons butter
1 egg yolk
1 can (12 oz) evaporated milk
8 oz shredded sharp cheddar cheese
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Bring a large pot of salted water to boil. Cook the macaroni until al dente. Not too long, mind, because it’s still gonna cook for a bit when it’s in the cheese sauce.
  2. While the pasta is cooking, cook the vegetables according to the package directions. Easy peasy. (er, broccoli.)
  3. Once the pasta is cooked, drain and return to the pan set over medium heat. Add the butter and the egg yolk and stir vigorously until it is completely combined.
  4. Stir in the evaporated milk, cheese and mustard. Stir until the cheese is melted and it has formed a creamy sauce.
  5. Stir in the vegetables and then season to taste with salt and pepper.
  6. Dig in!

*Protip from GG: Goes really well with some grilled chicken chunks in there, if you’re trying to get some more protein.*

Leave a Reply

